Return to
Noodler's Fountain Pen Ink (3oz/90mL) - Blue Upon The Plains of Abraham - Canadian Exclusive

Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
3 of 5 Looks fantastic on the screen ... August 30, 2019
Reviewer: Sol from Toronto, ON Canada  
… and the name sounds epic, but this is not dark blue-grey with hints of purple. If anything, it’s more like a dark teal. Maybe I just got a bad sample or something.

Can also be prone to hard starts. On the whole, I've found Diamine inks to be wetter.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Beautiful Color, water resistant! July 10, 2019
Reviewer: KJ Mercer from Toronto  
I got a sample of this recently in store, I have to say I haven't had any feathering problems with this ink. I would compare it to Sailor Sei Boku, it's more grey, almost seems like Sei Boku and Sou Boku mixed. I need a water resistant color and have been exploring different options, I have to say I love this ink, the wooly texture when you fill it in, and it has good wet flow in my PenBBS309. I really love the color. And best of all, it's more inexpensive than sailor sei boku so I think i'll be getting abottle of this if it comes back in stock.  Too bad noodlers seems to have consistency problems, I hope it will be as good as my sample.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Battle on the Paper of Rhodia May 6, 2019
Reviewer: Adam McDonald from Thunder Bay, ON  
As others have said, the ink can be fairly finicky. While it does feather very lightly on Rhodia, it only seems to do so under heavy flow. I bought some very heavy paper (pretty much cardstock at this point) and it flows well and doesn't feather at all. I haven't had any of the issues with thickening or clogging yet, but I've only been using it a few days. I have gone through quite a bit though. When it comes to colour, it is DEFINITELY more than just a grey. It is very dark, for sure, but the blue is quite obvious, and the hint of purple as well, especially when I have to clean it off my hands.

Another reason to buy this ink is the Patriotism! There were a number of inks I was interested in, and the appeal of "Canadian exclusive" is what put me over the edge for this particular ink. If you can handle this ink, I'd recommend it, for a nice dark colour that is uniquely Canadian.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Blue Upon The Plains of Abraham June 7, 2018
Reviewer: Arjen van der Wal from Toronto, ON  
Really nice dark grey-blue color. You need to shake the bottle once in awhile - after I hadn't used mine for awhile it had gotten a bit ropy on top. I closed the bottle, gave it a couple shakes and all was good again.
The ink had a very pungent chem factory smell that's actually kind of endearing after awhile (and seems to go away after the ink dries on paper).
This is a permanent ink, so it has some of the usual cautions that go with that. The nib can dry easily if left uncapped and if the pen doesn't have a cap that seals well, you constantly have hard starts. Longer term, it can clog the pen so you can expect some periodic maintenance. In my Lamy Safari (medium nib) it took something like 6+ fills before flow was noticeably impeded.
Other than that the ink flows nicely, doesn't feather and looks great on the page (regardless of the type of paper).


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
2 of 5 Bad behave ink May 26, 2018
Reviewer: Cosmos Zhu from Waterloo,ON  
As the other review mentions, it feathers like crazy. The only paper I had that can hold this ink was Tomoe River. And it feathers on all other papers, Rhodia, 1917, Clairefontaine, Midori MD, Life. etc. The color is good, flow is more than excellent. But I can't use this ink since it feathers on everything I write daily.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
1 of 5 Disappointing May 21, 2018
Reviewer: Matthew B from N/A  
The ink produces feathering even on rhodia 80gsm. There is no blue whatsoever in the ink - it is a dark grey ink after drying. Furthermore, the ink seems to strip my piston fillers of their silicone grease, which makes it almost impossible for me to use this in any pen. I don’t like having to perform frequent maintenance on my pens, and this one catalyzes that.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
1 of 5 Blue on the Plains of Abraham by Noodlers Ink January 31, 2018
Reviewer: Helen Dyer from New Brunswick, Canada  
I loved the colour.  But the ink seemed viscous and gluey after the first time I filled my pen -a Noodlers Ahab. When I went to refill recently I found that my filler mechanism was stuck and the small tube that goes from the nib section into the filler was completely clogged.  An attempt to wash out my pen yielded several lumps, which I photographed along with the clogged pen mechanism, and sent to Wonderpens, thinking that they might at least let me know that they’d investigate.  When no return email came I phoned and was told “the ink is probably mouldy - you should just throw it out”.  Since the bottle is almost full, I protested that this didn’t seem like very sound business practice, especially if one is expected to purchase Noodlers ink again.  An email to Noodlers has also been met with silence. As a lifetime fountain pen user I have never met this problem before, nor have I often met this level of disinterest in customer satisfaction.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
2 of 5 Underwhelmed May 24, 2017
Reviewer: Margaret McDonald from Toronto, ON Canada  
I have to say I was rather disappointed with this one. I don't know if it was just my bottle but it doesn't show even this slightest hint of blue; it's just grey, no matter what the nib. I'd rather splurge and go with the Iroshizuku Shin-Kai, a true blue-black with lovely red sheen.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
2 of 5 Give in to the hype May 15, 2017
Reviewer: Paul David from Ottawa, ON Canada  
A gorgeous ink that has just a hint of purple but still makes it appropriate for business applications.  As a left-hander I appreciated how quickly the ink dries too.

*Edit*  Warning, the ink has a tendency to quickly dry out in the pen, ending up as a blobby mess.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Ink was better than expected April 30, 2017
Reviewer: Robert Paton from London, ON Canada  
After I ordered this ink I wasn't too sure I would like the colour. When it arrived the colour was so much better looking at it myself, it's beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items